Surya Namaskar’s Step 6 – Ashtanga Namaskara (Eight-Limbed Salutation)

    - Advertisement -

    The Sun Salutation series of asanas include Ashtanga Namaskara, also known as the Eight-Limbed Salutation. It is the sixth posture of the Sun Salutation, also known as Surya Namaskara. The body contacts the ground in eight places in this pose: the two feet (toes), the two knees, the two palms, the chest, and the head. “ashta” means “eight” and “anga” means “portion” in Sanskrit. As a result, the practice is known as Ashtanga Namaskara. Devotees employ this stance to pay homage to deities at Indian temples.

    How to do the Ashtanga Namaskara?

    1. Lower your body till it is parallel to the ground.
    2. Allow the following components to contact the floor: two feet, two knees, two hands, the chest, and the chin.
    3. The hip and abdomen are lifted somewhat.
    4. The breath is held outside and the respiration is interrupted for a few seconds while performing this stance.

    - Advertisement -

    A mantra can be recited while executing this asana as part of the Surya Namaskara (Sun Salutation exercises). The sixth posture is Ashtanga Namaskara. “Om Pushne Namaha” is the mantra to be recited. Salutations to the one who provides strength.

    The Advantages of Ashtanga Namaskara (The Eight-Limbed Salutation)

    Surya Namaskar’s Step 6 - Ashtanga Namaskara (Eight-Limbed Salutation)

    • It helps to develop the muscles in the hands and legs.
    • It helps to strengthen the chest.
    - Advertisement -

    Latest articles

    Related articles